#### Mandy Schroeder

Information & Communications Coordinator 920.492.2905 ext. 1025

E-mail: mschroeder@ashwaubenonk12.org



# **MEDIA RELEASE**

# For More Information, Contact:

Paul Lotto, DECA Advisor Ashwaubenon High School 920-492-2955, ext.5102 plotto@ashwaubenonk12.org

## ASHWAUBENON HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS WIN AT DECA DISTRICTS

Ashwaubenon, WI – January 17, 2022 – Ashwaubenon High School had 13 students compete at the DECA District Competition held January 8th at Bayport High School. The competition welcomed over 15 schools and more than 500 students. Eight of the 13 students medaled in at least one competition and three were within the top four. Five students will be moving on to the DECA State Competition in February. There are a total of 16 event areas for the students to compete in. Each student takes a business test and does two business role plays with business professionals. Student scores for all events are added together to determine overall winners in each event category.

Below are the results for the 13 AHS students who won and/or earned medals.

## Students who qualified for State:

2nd place overall - Lakshman Mallela who medaled in two events, 3rd place overall - the team of Owen Wick and Jayanth Balu who medaled in two events, Haylie Dumoulin who medaled in one event, and Aren Damayo who medaled in two events.

Great job overall, and these additional three members finished in the top 10 and won a medal. The team of Kelly Vyskocil and Lily Urbanek also medaled in two events and Asra Azad medaled in one event.

DECA is an Association of Marketing Students. There are DECA Clubs at many of the area high schools. The clubs are organized into State Districts. Ashwaubenon is in District 4, which covers the Green Bay area and most of the Fox Valley. There are District, State and International DECA competitions each year in which students must qualify to move on.

For more information, please contact Paul Lotto, AHS DECA Advisor, at <u>plotto@ashwaubenonk12.org</u> or 920-492-2955, extension 5102.

Photo Attached: All Competitors.jpg.

Photo Caption: Pictured from the left to right: Jayanth Balu, Aren Damayo, Owen Wick, Lakshman Mallela, Sarah Beaudo, Supriya Dhruvaraj, Asra Azad, Haylie Dumoulin, Leah Ashworth, Ella Senger, Lexi Volk, Lily Urbanek and Kelly Vyskocil.

### [End of media release]